Toronto Mayor launches 2017 school cricket tournament

York Memorial Collegiate Cricket Team 2016 champs

Toronto Mayor John Tory and Helen Berhane, Deputy Chair of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA) Canada, will launch the 2017 Mayor’s School Cricket Tournament today at  the Rotunda at Metro Hall.

The 2017 individual awards will be presented to the following players:
High School (Boys)

Best Batter – Herrick Patel, North Albion Collegiate Institute

Best Bowler Thuvaragan Pathmeswaran, Woburn Collegiate Institute

MVP Harsh Joshi, Woburn Collegiate Institute

High School (Girls)

Best Batter – Fizza Hussain, Emery Collegiate Institute

Best Bowler – Priya Patel, Y ork Memorial Collegiate
MVP –  Megan Yougnauth,  York Memorial Collegiate   Institute
Middle School (Boys)
Best Batter – Ashaun Seecharan, Charles Gordon Senior Public School

Best Bowler Raj Padhiar, Smithfield Middle school

MVP – Shenduran Sivasubramaniam, Charles Gordon Senior Public school

Last year’s tournament winners and runners-up are as follows.
2016 High School (Boys)
Champions: Woburn Collegiate Institute  (TDSB)

Jean Vanier CSS (TDSB)
Runner-up:  North Albion Collegiate Institute (TDSB)

Monsignor Percy Johnson  CSS ((TCDBS)
2016 High School (Girls)
Champions:  York Memorial Collegiate Institute
Runner-up: Emery Collegiate     Institute

2016 Middle Schools:
Champions:  Charles Gordon Senior Public school (TDSB)

Blessed Sacrament  CS (TCDSB)

Runner-up: Smithfield Middle school (TBSD)

St. Maria Goretti  CS (TCDSB)

The 2017 Mayor’s School Cricket Tournament will be held May 15 – 19 at Sunnybrook Park and G. Ross Lord Park. The GTA finals will be held on June 3 at Sunnybrook Park.