Gayle, Samuels Back In Windies Squad

Cricket with Dalchand.
Chris Gayle and team mate Marlon Samuels have been included in the West Indies squad for the limited-overs matches against Ireland which started on February 19th in Kingston, Jamaica. Gayle missed t he New Zealand tour due to a hamstring injury he suffered on tour to India. Marlon Samuels and Darren Sammy have also been included in both squads after recovering from injuries which made them miss the limited-overs matches during the New Zealand tour.

Ravi Rampaul who had to return home from the New Zealand tour due to a thumb injury was only selected in the T20 squad. Allrounder Kieron Pollard was not considered due to his knee injury, while Tino Best, Johnson Charles and Narsingh Deonarine were dropped.

Dwayne Smith who was recently named MVP of the Nagico Super50 tournament was recalled to the T20 squad only. Left-arm medium-pacer Krishmar Santokie who was recently picked in the Indian Premier League (IPL) by defending champions Mumbai Indians has been recalled after appearing in only two international T20″s two years.
The only uncapped player is the 23-year-old Barbadian fast bowler Miguel Cummins who is a surprise selection to the ODI squad.

The West Indies will host Ireland for two T20″s and one ODI. The first T20 was played on Wednesday, February 19th and the second will be played on Friday, February 21st. The only ODI is on Saturday, February 22nd at Sabina Park in Jamaica.

The ODI squad- Dwayne Bravo (Captain) Darren Bravo, Miguel Cummins, Kirk Edwards, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Nikita Miller, Sunil Narine, Kieron Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Marlon Samuels, Darren Sammy and Lendi Simmons.

The T20 squad- Darren Sammy (Captain) Samuel Badree, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Krishmar Santokie, Lendi Simmons and Dwayne Smith.