7-7 tie in local government elections in Trinidad


Kamla Persad-Bissessar and Keith Rowley

The ruling People’s National Movement (PNM) and the Opposition United National Congress (UNC) each won seven of the 14 regional corporations in Monday’s local government elections in Trinidad.
“We went in with seven and we came out with seven,” said Prime Minister Keith Rowley on Monday night.
The PNM won the Port of Spain, San Fernando, Arima, Diego Martin, San Juan/Laventille, Tunapuna/Piarco and Point Fortin corporations.
And the UNC retained the Chaguanas, Couva/Tabaquite, Mayaro/ Rio Claro, Sangre Grande, Penal/Debe, Princes Town and Siparia corporations.
Opposition leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar said she expects recounts in several seats.
She said the UNC missed out winning a seat in Tunapuna /Piarco by one vote and a seat in Arima by nine votes.
The UNC was projected to have won the popular vote. Ten parties along with six independent candidates contested the elections.