Barbados Crowned Regional Super50 Champions

Cricket with Dalchand.
Barbados defeated hosts Trinidad & Tobago by 17 runs in the final of the West Indies Cricket Board Nagico Super50 tournament last Saturday, at the Queen’s Park Oval, Trinidad, and captured the Clive Lloyd trophy.

Barbados after winning the toss elected to bat first, got off to a good start with openers Dwayne Smith and Kraigg Brathwaite who posted 127 for the first wicket. Smith who topscored, smashed 83 runs from 77 balls, and hitting 10 fours and two sixes while Brathwaite made 36. Jonathan Carter scored a responsible 49 as their team were all out for 252 from 48.4 overs. Kevon Cooper took 4 for 62 and Sunil Narine and Lendi Simmons picked up 2 wickets each.

In reply, Trinidad & Tobago were bowled out for 235 in 45.5 overs with former captain Denesh Ramdin topscoring with 68. Opener Evin Lewis made 27 and allrounder Rayad Emrit also chipped in with 27. Carlos Brathwaite took 4 for 41 and Jason Holder and Sulieman Benn took 2 wickets each.

Dwayne Smith won the Man-of-the-Match award and he was also the best batsman of the tournament, scoring 232 runs. Rayad Emrit was the best bowler taking 10 wickets. The best allrounder was awarded to Tamar Lambert of Jamaica with Evin Lewis from Trinidad & Tobago the best fielder and Denesh Ramdin was voted the best wicket-keeper.