Barbados honors unsung heroes in Canada

All Photos by Fresh Vision Media

Barbados unsung heroes

Eleven Barbadians residing in Canada have received the Barbados Unsung Hero Awards for 2022.

Five of them were in Barbados to receive their awards during National Heroes celebrations on April 28 last.

Others were presented with their awards by Barbados government officials in Canada.

Last year, the first year the awards were introduced, they were all presented virtually.

Among this year’s awardees were Ontario tennis coach Lionel Eli who represented Barbados at Davis Cup and Eric Drayton, a retired cricketer and community volunteer who served in various executive positions on community organizations in British Colombia.

The other 2022 awardees who were recognized for their voluntary community work were Anita Sandiford (British Colombia), Dolores McIntosh (Ontario ), Annis Kirton (Ontario), Gloria Yarde (Ontario), Vanessa Sealy (Ontario), Jewel Jones (Quebec), Sharon Shreeves (British Colombia), Bryson Jones (British Colombia) and Colleen Ellis (Alberta).

To date, eleven persons have been created National Heroes of Barbados. They are as follows:

Bussa (also known as Busso or Bussoe) (died 1816)

Barbados unsung heroes

Sarah Ann Gill (1795–1866)

Samuel Jackman Prescod (1806–1871)

Charles Duncan O’Neal (1879–1936)

Sir Grantley Herbert Adams CMG, QC (1898–1971)

Clement Osbourne Payne (1904–1941)

Sir Hugh Worrell Springer GCMG, CBE (1913–1994)

Barbados unsung heroes


All photos by Freah Vision Media

Sir Frank Leslie Walcott KA, OBE (1916–1999)

Errol Walton Barrow PC, QC (1920–1987)

Sir Garfield St Aubrun Sobers AO, OCC (born 1936)

Rihanna (Robyn Rihanna Fenty) (born 1988)

Link to photos: