Canada names squad for Auty Cup

Cricket Canada recently announced a 13-man squad for the 2012 Auty Cup Tour of America which will take place at the Central Broward County International Cricket Stadium in Florida, between November 14th and 17th.

The Auty Cup is recognized as the world’s oldest international sporting fixture and was last played at the Toronto Cricket Ground in August, last year, when Canada defeated the USA by 34 runs.

The squad named includes six players from Brampton Masters CC, the 2012 Elite Division Champion. They are Rizwan Cheema (Captain) Damodar Daesrath, Jeremy Gordon, Usman Limbada, Hiral Patel and Junaid Siddiqui. The others are Ravindu Gunasekera, Henry Osinde and Raza-ur-Rehman from Toronto Cricket Club, Srimantha Vijeyratne from Centurians CC, Khurran Chohan and Hamza Tariq from Calgary and Amarbir Hansra from Abottsford B C.

The 2-day Auty Cup match is scheduled to be played on Wednesday and Thursday, November, 14th and 15th and will also include a 50 over encounter on Friday, November 16th followed by two Twenty20s on Saturday November 17th.