Canada wins ICC Americas Twenty20

Cricket with Dalchand Bissoon

Ravindu Gunasekera – key to the win.
Ravindu Gunasekera – key to the win.

Canada won the 2015 ICC Americas Region Division One Twenty20 when they defeated the USA by 23 runs in their final match last Saturday at World Sports Park, Indianapolis.

Unbeaten in the tournament, Canada finished with a 6-0 record to clinch the tournament title.

Final scores in the match: Canada sent in to bat scored 127 for six wickets in their 20 overs with opener Ravindu Gunasekera scoring his third half-century (54) in his five games. Nitish Kumar made 25 and S. A Wijeratne was undefeated on 14. Timil Patel took three for 20.

USA in reply scored 104 for eight wickets in their 20 overs with opener Fahad Babar topscoring 33 while his opening partner and wicket-keeper Steven Taylor made 18. Jimmy Hansra took two for 15 and Nikhil Dutta two for 16.

Player of the match was awarded to R. Gunasekera.

USA, however, finished second in the tournament and secured the second spot for this summer’s World T20 Qualifier to be played in Ireland and Scotland.

USA opening batsman Fahad Babar was named Best Batsman and Tournament MVP.

The 23-year-old Babar was the leading scorer in the tournament with 242 runs from six games and was also the highest individual scorer with an undefeated 78 against Bermuda.

USA legspinner Timil Patel was the tournament’s Best Bowler after finishing with 15 wickets and his teammate, opening batsman Steven Taylor, was named Best Wicketkeeper.