Caribbean Premier League kicks off in June

Cricket with Dalchand Bissoon

The third edition of the Limacol Caribbean Premier League (LCPL) T20 tournament is set to bowl off June 20 in Barbados and conclude on July 26 in Trinidad & Tobago.

The six franchise teams participating in the tournament are Barbados Tridents, Guyana Amazon Warriors, Jamaica Tallawahs, St. Kitts Patriots, St. Lucia Zouks and Trinidad & Tobago Red Steel.St. Kitts Patriots will make their first appearance in the tournament, replacing the Antigua Hawksbills.

A total of 33 matches are expected to be played in this year’s tournament across the Caribbean. In the opening match defending champions Barbados Tridents will take on Guyana Amazon Warriors at the Kensington Oval in Barbados on June 20.

A number of leading international T20 players around the world are expected to take part is this year”s tournament, including Pakistani Shahid Afridi, Sri Lanka’s Latish Malinga and Tillakaratne Dilshan, Australia’s Brad Hodge and several other West Indies stars including veteran batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul.