CARICOM marks its 50th anniversary

CARICOM marks its 50th anniversary

Michael Manley
Forbes Burnham
Dr. Eric Williams
Errol Barrow

The Caribbean Community (CARICOM), a grouping of 20 countries, observes its 50th Anniversary this year under the theme “50 Years Strong: A Solid Foundation to Build on.”

CARICOM was established on 4 July 1973 with the signing of the Treaty of Chaguaramas by Prime Ministers Errol Barrow for Barbados; Forbes Burnham for Guyana; Michael Manley for Jamaica; and Dr. Eric Williams for Trinidad and Tobago.

The activities to mark the golden jubilee include digital exhibitions in Member States; the 45th Meeting of the Conference of Heads of Government of CARICOM; cultural performances and 10K road race; the Secretary-General’s Regional Visual Arts Competition for primary and Secondary Schools in Member States; the CARICOM Chairman’s Debating Competition for Higher Education Institutions in Member States; and an Entrepreneurial Competition for Innovative Ideas from the youth of the Community.

(The member states of CARICOM are Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, Saint Lucia, St.Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago.

Associate members are Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands Cayman Islands and Turks and Caicos Islands.)