Christine Kangaloo elected President of Trinidad and Tobago

Christine Kangaloo

Former Senate President Christine Kangaloo has been elected President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.

She received 48 votes while opposing candidate Israel Rajah Khan received 22, when a full complement of the Electoral College convened last Friday in Parliament. There were three spoiled ballots.

(The Electoral College comprises all members of the House of Representatives and the Senate.)

The Presiding Officer, Bridgid Annisette-George, who is also the Speaker of the House of Representatives, said under the Constitution, “the candidate who has obtained the greater number of the votes cast shall be declared elected.”

The ruling People’s National Movement (PNM) had 39 votes, 23 from the House and 16 from the Senate while the Opposition United National Congress (UNC) had 25 votes, 19 from the House and six from the Senate. The Independent Senators had nine votes.

Kangaloo who will succeed outgoing President Paula Mae Weekes, will be the second female president of Trinidad and Tobago and the seventh president of the country.

She will be sworn-in on March 21.