CJF introduces a fifth Black Journalism Fellowship opportunity  

This is among a number of fellowships, bursaries, and wards aimed a range of communities

Chris Waddell

To celebrate the exceptional work of journalists and news organizations across the country and to provide professional growth opportunities for emerging journalistic talent, The Canadian Journalism Foundation (CJF) is now accepting entries for its 2023 awards and fellowships. The deadline for all submissions is Jan. 20, 2023.

“Last year’s awards clearly demonstrated the vitality, variety and excellence of Canada’s journalism,” says Chris Waddell, CJF Awards Committee Chair. “This year, the CJF is particularly pleased to expand our awards with the CJF-Edward Burtynsky Award for Climate Photojournalism and a new addition to our Black Journalism Fellowship program, the CJF-Globe and Mail Black Journalism Fellowship.”

The awards and fellowships now open for submissions are:

CJF Bursary for BIPOC Student Journalists

The $5,000 annual bursary is funded by Toronto-based communications firm Media Profile, a long-time CJF supporter. The bursary is open to a BIPOC student in their final year of a Canadian undergraduate journalism program. It is designed to support students who have demonstrated strong engagement with the BIPOC community and a commitment to high journalistic standards.

The Canadian Journalism Foundation supports and rewards excellence in Canadian journalism through its annual awards program. Applications are now open for the 2023 awards. (CNW Group/Canadian Journalism Foundation)

CJF Black Journalism Fellowship Program

This year, CJF is introducing a fifth Black Journalism Fellowship opportunity, in partnership with The Globe and Mail.

This program, through five individual fellowships, seeks to amplify Black voices, improve coverage of Black issues in the news and cultivate future Black media leaders by providing unique opportunities for early-career Black journalists—with one-to-five years’ experience—to be hosted for six months at a participating newsroom or bureau.

Other Awards:

  • CJF Award for Climate Solutions Reporting – $10,000 cash prize and recognizes excellence in reporting on climate change
  • CJF-Meta Journalism Project Digital News Innovation Award – With a $10,000 the award recognizes innovations in digital media that have a demonstrated impact in advancing the quality of digital journalism.
  • CJF Jackman Award for Excellence in Journalism – Presented to Canadian news organizations whose journalism initiates profound and positive change in the community they serve.
  • CJF Lifetime Achievement Award – Recognizes a Canadian who has made an outstanding lifetime contribution to journalism.
  • The Landsberg Award – Recognizes a journalist doing exceptional research, analysis and writing through a gender lens about women’s equality issues and comes with a $5,000 prize.
  • The Edward Burtynsky Award for Climate Photojournalism – Celebrates provocative, impactful and inspirational climate photography from around the world through a single image that furthers people’s understanding of the causes and effects of the climate crisis.
  • CJF-CBC Indigenous Journalism Fellowships – Two early-career Indigenous journalists will have the opportunity to explore issues of interest.
  • Tom Hanson Photojournalism Award – Offers an early-career photojournalist a six-week paid internship with The Canadian Press.
  • Martin Wise Goodman Canadian Nieman Fellowship – Awarded bi-annually, this fellowship allows the recipient to enjoy a one-year sabbatical at Harvard University.

Recipients of these awards will be recognized at the CJF Awards ceremony in June 2023.

Established in 1990, The Canadian Journalism Foundation promotes, celebrates and facilitates excellence in journalism. The foundation runs a prestigious annual awards and fellowships program featuring an industry gala where news leaders, journalists and corporate Canada gather to celebrate outstanding journalistic achievement and the value of professional journalism.