Dwayne De Rosario, Robyn Gayle to be inducted into Soccer Hall of Fame

Two iconic figures with strong ties to Toronto FC have been selected for induction into the prestigious Canada Soccer Hall of Fame as part of the esteemed class of 2024.

Robyn Gayle

Dwayne De Rosario, a revered figure in TFC’s history and a former standout for the Canadian Men’s National Team (CanMNT), alongside Robyn Gayle, an accomplished defender for the Canadian Women’s National Team (CanWNT) who currently serves as the Reds’ Performance and Wellness Coach, will be honored with induction into the Canada Soccer Hall of Fame this year. Their remarkable contributions to Canadian soccer will also be celebrated during upcoming national team home matches.

Charmaine Crooks, President of Canada Soccer, hailed De Rosario and Gayle as “timeless heroes” who will now be forever enshrined alongside the greatest Canadian soccer players of all time.


De Rosario’s illustrious career spans 17 years with the CanMNT, during which he earned 81 caps and played a pivotal role in the team’s triumph at the 2000 Gold Cup. A four-time Canada Soccer Player of the Year, De Rosario held the title of the team’s all-time leading goal scorer for a decade until surpassed by Cyle Larin in 2022. His accomplishments include two Canadian Championships with TFC, where he was named MVP both times, and four MLS Cups split between the San Jose Earthquakes and the Houston Dynamo. Having already been inducted into Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame in 2022, De Rosario now rightfully claims his place in the Canada Soccer Hall of Fame.

In a heartfelt video shared by Canada Soccer, De Rosario’s former teammate Atiba Hutchinson, a revered figure in Canadian soccer, extended his congratulations, acknowledging DeRo’s remarkable career and the profound impact he had as a mentor and role model.

Meanwhile, Gayle, a decorated athlete with the CanWNT, achieved notable success including winning an Olympic Bronze Medal at the 2021 London Olympics and clinching the CONCACAF Women’s Championship in 2010. Coincidentally, Gayle earned 81 caps for her country, mirroring De Rosario’s achievement.

Since retiring from professional play in 2015, Gayle has transitioned into coaching, becoming an integral part of the national team staff. She has worked alongside esteemed coaches such as John Herdman and Bev Priestman, contributing to the team’s successes at major tournaments including the FIFA Women’s World Cup and the Olympics.

Their exceptional contributions to the national teams make De Rosario and Gayle undeniable candidates for the Canada Soccer Hall of Fame, joining the ranks of esteemed players who have left an indelible mark on Canadian soccer history.

The induction of De Rosario and Gayle marks the addition of the 31st former member from each national team to the Canada Soccer Hall of Fame. They share this honor with ‘Builders’ Christine O’Connor and Leeta Sokalski, the first female administrators to be recognized by the Hall of Fame.