Emerging black writers win the Journey Prize

Just as Black History Month is set to begin the best

The Journey Prize Stories

Yesterday a Canadian book prize along with a publishing house announce the ten winners of the 2023 Journey Prize. Most notably, all the winners are young Black writers. 

The Prize (officially The Writers’ Trust of Canada McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize) is a Canadian literary award, presented annually by McClelland and Stewart and the Writers’ Trust of Canada for the best short story published by an emerging writer in a Canadian literary magazine.

“We are proud to announce the winners of the 2023 Writers’ Trust McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize! Selected by a jury comprising award-winning writers David Chariandy, Esi Edugyan, and Canisia Lubrin, this year’s anthology celebrates the best emerging Black writers in the country” says the prize.

Each of the ten winners receive a $1,000 award and their work will appear in a soon-to-be published anthology.  The chosen authors are Christina Cooke, A.Z. Farah, Zilla Jones, Sarah Kabamba, Téa Mutonji, Lue Palmer, Terese Mason Pierre, Jasmine Sealy, Dianah Smith, and Iryn Tushabe.


Lue Palmer
Christina Cooke