Ex PM Patterson on Caribbean League

Former Jamaican Prime Minister P. J. Patterson will chair the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) Cricket Committee after accepting his appointment by the West Indies Cricket Board.

The cricket committee will be responsible for final approval of the tournament rules and regulations, playing conditions and review any potential breaches. They will also be responsible for players disciplinary matters, approval of the team changes throughout the tournament, according to a CPL Media Release.

The CPL Cricket Committee was formed with three nominations from the WICB and three nominations from CPL organizers. Both accepted each other’s choices openly without  reservation. The members from the WICB are Zorol Bartley, Conde Riley and Walter Scott QC. The members from CPL are Ian Bishop, Lance Gibbs and Charles Wilkin, QC.

“I am pleased to be part of the Caribbean Premier League because I believe it will impact the region in countless ways,” said Patterson.” I have expressed in the past that we have a special brand of cricket here in the West Indies and we need to capitalise on that. I believe that CPL will truly highlight our uniqueness to the world.”

The CPL will involve six franchises, with a West Indian star player assigned to each franchise.

The tournament kicks off on July 29th, 2013.