Guyana Jaguars win WICB Professional League

Christopher Barnwell – maiden first-class century.
Christopher Barnwell – maiden first-class century.

Guyana Jaguars captured the inaugural WICB Professional Cricket League last Monday.

Already assured of the title prior to the start of their final round, the Jaguars ended with 148 points after defeating Windward Islands Volcanoes by an innings and 10 runs at Windsor Park, Roseau, Dominica.

Windward Islands sent in to bat scored 283 all out with opener Devon Smith topscoring with 92. Davendra Bishoo took six for 74 and Veerasammy Permaul took four for 64.

Guyana in reply scored 427 with Christopher Barnwell scoring his maiden first-class century 148 and veteran batsman Shiv Chanderpaul made 119. Shane Shillingford picked up five for 118.

Windward  Islands in their second innings were all out for 134 with Tyrone Theophile topscoring with 47. V. Permaul and D. Bishoo took four wickets each.

In the other two matches, Leeward Islands Hurricanes defeated Trinidad & Tobago Red Force by five wickets and Jamaica Franchise and Barbados Pride played to a draw.

The final points standings after the 10th and final round: Guyana 148 points; Barbados 117; Windward Islands 109; Jamaica 75; T&T Red Force 65 and Leeward Islands 54.