Hawaiian Artic Scarborough cricket champs

Cricket with Dalchand Bissoon

Hawaiian Artic CC gather to celebrate their victory in the Premier Division Championship.

Hawaiian Artic CC won the Scarborough Cricket Association 2014 Premier Division Championship when they were awarded the game against East West CC in the final playoff at Ashtonbee cricket ground last Sunday.

East West took first and scored only 127 all out with Yunus Mortara scoring 27. Harrinarine Chattergoon took four for 25. Hawaiian Artic in reply were 27 for one wicket in five overs with former Guyana opening batsman Krishna Arjune  undefeated on 20, when the game was interrupted by the opposing (fielding team) and supporters, as they uprooted the stumps and invaded the playing area in protest to a not-out decision to an apparent caught behind.

It was Hawaiian Artic fifth consecutive win in the Premier Division, since acquiring the trophy in 2010.

The team led by former Guyana and West Indies Under-19 batsman Hemnarine Chattergoon was unbeaten in the tournament and finished with 159 points in Conference B with 12 wins and two by default.

Harrinarine Chattergoon, younger brother of Hemnarine Chattergoon and former Guyana youth player, was named MVP in the final while allrounder Zaheer Allard was voted MVP of the season.