Helon wins calypso crown with ‘Change’

Newly crowned Calypso Monarch Helon Francis

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad  – Helon Francis, a 24-year old relative newcomer to the kaiso arena, is the 2018 Trinidad and  Tobago calypso monarch.

Francis competed against six former calypso monarchs and soca monarch, Aaron “Voice” St. Louis, at the Dimanche Gras show at the Queen’s Park Savannah here which started on Sunday night and ended in the early hours of Carnival Monday.

The new calypso monarch who performed his” nation-building composition,”Change, said the inspiration for his song  came from his mission to encourage citizens to improve Trinidad and Tobago through their behaviour.

“If we want a better nation, it starts with us. We are the first  thing  that has to change,” he remarked.

Francis received (Trinidad and Tobago) $700,000, the first prize in the competition.

Placing  second was “Voice”  St. Louis, the reigning soca monarch, who received (Trinidad and Tobago) $400,000.

Defending calypso monarch, Dr Hollis “Chalkdust” Liverpool, placed last.

Dr. Liverpool is the record nine-time winner of the Trinidad and Tobago calypso monarch  title.

Also joining Dr. Liverpool in the bottom half of 17-member ranking were former monarchs Michael “Sugar Aloes” Osouna, Sandra “Singing Sandra” Millington, Kurt Allen and Karen Asche.

At the  Dimanche Gras show there were guest performances by Ajax-based calypsonian David Rudder and several leading soca artists.


  1. Helon Francis
  2. Aaron “Voice” St Louis
  3. Rondell Donawa
    4. Michael “Protector” Legerton
  4. Joanne Rowley
  5. Myron “Myron B” Bruce
  6. Duane O’Connor
    8. Karen Asche
    9. Dexter “The Stinger” Parsons
  7. Kurt Allen
  8. Alana “Lady Watchman” Sinnette-Khan
  9. Selvon “Mistah Shak” Noel
    13. Stacey Sobers
    14. Sandra “Singing Sandra” Millington
    15. Michael “Sugar Aloes” Osouna
  10. Carlos “Skatie” James
  11. Dr Hollis “Chalkdust” Liverpool