Jason Holder named Windies ODI captain

Cricket with Dalchand Bissoon

Jason Holder – picked in surprise announcement.
Jason Holder – picked in surprise announcement.

Fast bowler Jason Holder, 23, has been appointed the West Indies one-day captain.

West Indies Cricket Board in a rather surprising announcement on Saturday, said Holder has replaced Dwayne Bravo and will lead the team in the five-match ODI series against South Africa, which starts Jan. 16.

Bravo replaced Darren Sammy as ODI captain in May 2013 and led the West Indies since then in 27 ODIs.

The WICB in a release thanked Bravo for his services but said Holder’s appointment was with a view to development of the team.

Chairman of Selectors Clive Lloyd, who made the recommendation, said: “Jason is one of the good, young players who we believe will form part of the long-term future of West Indies cricket. We expect him to be around for a very long time.

“He is a young man with a bright future. We have invested in him. He was part of the High Performance Centre and he also played for the West Indies Under-19 Team and the West Indies A Team.”

Holder has played in 21 ODIs since making his debut against Australia in February 2013 and has taken 29 wickets at an average of 28.65.

The WICB Selectors left out Dwayne Bravo. Darren Sammy and Kieron Pollard from the ODI squad but all three will retain their places in the T20 squad with Sammy remaining T20 captain.

Holder will lead a 15-man squad which includes uncapped fellow Barbadian allrounder Jonathan Carter. Fast bowler Kemar Roach who injured his ankle in the first test was replaced by Windward Islands left-arm pacer Kenroy Peters. Peters, 32, will also make his debut in the test squad.

The 15-man ODI squad: Jason Holder (captain), Sulieman Benn, Carlos Braithwaite, Jonathan Carter, Sheldon Cottrell, Narsingh Deonarine, Leon Johnson, Chris Gayle, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendi Simmons, Dwayne Smith, Jerome Taylor and Kenroy Peters.

The 15-man T20 squad: Darren Sammy (captain), Sulieman Benn, Carlos Braithwaite, Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Ashley Nurse, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendi Simmons and Dwayne Smith.