Johnson to captain WICB President’s XI

Cricket with Dalchand Bissoon

Leon Johnson – takes on Australia.
Leon Johnson – takes on Australia.

Leon Johnson, the 27-year-old experienced middle-order batsman from Guyana, has been named to lead the West Indies Cricket Board President’s XI in a three-day tour match against the visiting Australian team at Vivian Richards Cricket Ground in Antigua from May 27 to 29.

Johnson played for the West Indies in four Tests since his debut against Bangladesh at Gros Islet, St. Lucia, in September 2014 and has scored 275 runs, his highest 66 at an average of 39.28.

He also appeared for the West Indies in six ODIs since his debut against Bermuda at Maple Leaf Cricket Ground in Toronto in August 2008.

Carlos Brathwaite, the 26-year-old Barbados allrounder, who was included in the West Indies Test squad for the recent Test series against England but did not play, has been named vice-captain.

Brathwaite has played in four ODIs for the West Indies since his debut against Bangladesh at Chittagong in October 2011 and last played in a ODI in January 2015 against South Africa.

He also appeared in two T20Is.

The 13-man squad named by the West Indies Cricket Board Selectors: Leon Johnson (captain), Carlos Brathwaite (vice-captain), Sharmarh Brooks, Raijndra  Chandrika, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Jason Dawes, Shane Dowrich, Imran Khan, Marquino Mindley, Jason Mohamed, Tyrone Theophile and Jomel Warrican.

The match will be Australia’s only warm-up match prior to their two-Test series against the West Indies which runs June 3 to 7 at Windsor Park, Dominica, The second Test will be played June 11 to 15 at Sabina Park, Jamaica.