Prime Minister Trudeau to deliver keynote address at Harry Jerome Awards

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau is scheduled to deliver the keynote address at  the Black Business and Professional Association’s 35th annual Harry Jerome Awards at the International Centre in Mississauga on Saturday.

The Awards is established in memory of Harry Jerome, an African-Canadian Olympic athlete, scholar and social advocate.

Presented by TD Bank, it honours the accomplishments of the African-Canadian community in the categories of Academics, Arts, Athletics, Leadership, Business, Entertainment, Professional Excellence, Health Science, Technology and Innovation, Community Service, Lifetime Achievement, Diversity, Trailblazer, Social Advocacy, Volunteer, Public Advocacy, Youth Advancement, and the President’s Award.

Festivities will include a VIP reception, entertainment by ONQ Live Entertainment, Sage, the TD Dancers, and the Swag After Party.

Awards will be presented to the following:

  • Rev. Dr. Audley N. James (Lifetime Achievement Award)- Dr. James is the Founder and Senior Pastor of Revivaltime Tabernacle Worldwide Ministry.
  • Harriet Thornhill (Youth Advancement Award) – Harriet Thornhill is Vice President of the RBC Contact Centre and has held senior positions at RBC in marketing, recruitment, leadership development and sales leadership.
  • Dr. Everton Gooden (Trailblazer Award) -Dr.Gooden is an otolaryngologist (head and neck specialist) at North York General Hospital in Toronto and has been the Division Head of otolaryngology at the hospital since 2009.
  • Keith Spence (Professional Excellence Award) –  Keith Spence  is President and Partner of Global Mining Capital which is engaged in private equity investment.
  • George Frempong (Business Award) – George Frempong is Senior Vice President of Sales and  Co-Founder of Herjavec Group with nearly twenty years of sales experience in the Canadian security industry.
  • Isobel Granger (Public Advocacy Award) – Now a staff sergeant with the Ottawa Police Service, Isobel Granger began her policing career in her native Zimbabwe.She was the first black officer in the white ranks of a segregated police force in Zimbabwe.
  • Leanne Prendergast (Leadership Award) – Leanne Prendergast, a motivational speaker, is the President and Co-Founder of Love our Lives, a not-for-profit organization based in Ontario.
  • Sharon Riley (Entertainment Award) – Sharon Riley started the Sharon Riley & Faith Chorale which has established itself as one of Canada’s premier gospel groups.
  • Gabrielle Fletcher (Academics Award) – Gabrielle Fletcher is a student at the Schulich School of Business who works part time as a legal secretary.
  • Dr. Barbara Trieloff-Deane (Diversity Award) – Dr. Deane, a certified financial planner, is Vice President, Learning & Development, at Qtrade Financial Group.
  • Wesley J. Hall (President’s Award) – Wesley J. Hall who founded Kingsdale Shareholder Services Inc. in 2003, served as CEO of the company until last January.
  • Chris Campbell (Volunteer Award) – Chris Campbell has been a construction site supervisor and a carpentry apprenticeship instructor and is currently a representative of the Carpenters’ District Council of Ontario.
  • Andre De Grasse (Athletics Award) – Andre De Grasse is an Olympic sprinter who won three medals (one silver and two bronze) in the Rio Games last summer.
  • Ron Cunningham (Community Service Award) – Ron Cunningham, an accountant, is Co-Founder and CEO of Citizens for the Advancement of Community Development in Mississauga.
  • Dr. Juliet M. Daniel (Technology and Innovation Award) – Dr. Daniel is a professor and award-winning cancer biologist in the Department of Biology at McMaster University in Hamilton.
  • Cheryl Nembhard (Social Advocacy Award) – Cheryl Nembhard is a  playwright and  long- standing advocate against social injustice.
  • Fabienne Colas (Arts Award) – Fabienne Colas is a popular actress in Haitian cinema and a filmmaker.
  • Dr. Boluwaji Ogunyemi (Health Sciences Award) – Dr. Ogunyemi is the Chief Dermatology resident physician at the University of British Columbia.

The following individuals will be honoured posthumously in recognition of their contributions to the community:

  • Dr. Trevor Ian Robinson – Honorary Mention
  • Raphaelita Walker – Honorary Mention
  • Dr. David Bell – Honorary Mention
  • Dr. Inez Elliston – Honorary Mention

2016 Harry Jerome Media Award winner, Patricia J. Jaggernauth, a weather specialist and reporter for Toronto’s Breaking News, CP24, will host the event.