Rayad Emrit to lead Barbados Tridents

Cricket With Dalchand

Rayad Emrit has been appointed captain of the Barbados Tridents team for the upcoming Champions League T20 tournament which will be played in India from Sept. 13 to Oct. 4.

The 33-year-old allrounder has been a regular member of the Trinidad & Tobago national team after making his debut against the Leeward Islands in 2004 at Guaracara Park and has played in two One-Day Internationals for the West Indies.

The Barbados Tridents won the Limacol Caribbean Premier League 2014 after defeating the Guyana Amazon Warriors in the final on Aug. 16 at Warner Park, Basseterre, St. Kitts.

Emrit was promoted to lead the Tridents after regular captain Kieron Pollard opted to play for his Indian Premier League franchise, the Mumbai Indians.

The Barbados Tridents Squad: Rayad Emrit (Captain), Ravi Rampaul, William Perkins, Akeal Hosein, Rayman Reifer, Shane Dowrich, Ashley Nurse, Jonathan Carter, Kyle Mayers, Jeevan Mendis, Neil McKenzie, James Franklin, Elton Chigumbura and Dilshan Munaweera.

The seven West Indies players participating in the tournament are Dwayne Bravo, Dwayne Smith and Samuel Badree for the Chennai Super Kings; Sunil Narine and Andre Russell for the Kolkata Knight Riders and Kieron Pollard and Lendi Simmons for the Mumbai Indians.