South Africa squad for Windies tri-series

The South African cricket selectors have named a 15-man squad for the upcoming West Indies ODI Tri-Nation Series which starts at Providence Stadium, Guyana, on June 3.

The full squad: A.B. deVilliers (captain), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, J.P. Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw and Tabraiz Shamsi.

Shamsi, 26, the left-arm chinaman bowler who was the leading spinner in South Africa’s first-class competition and who earned his first Indian Premier League contract with Royal Challengers Bangalore received a maiden call-up to the national side.

The other two spinners in the squad are Pakistani-born legbreak googly bowler Tahir, 37, who has played in 54 ODIs and Phangiso, 32, the left-arm orthodox bowler who has played in 16 ODIs.

The surprise omission from the squad is world-rated fast bowler Dale Steyn who did not play much cricket last year due to injury who is being rested according to South Africa’s convener of selectors.

Steyn, however, is playing in the Indian Premier League for Gujarat Lions and will also appear for Jamaica Tallawahs in the upcoming Caribbean Premier League.

The Australian squad: Steven Smith (captain), David Warner (vice-captain), George Bailey, Scott Boland, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glen  Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade and Adam Zampa.

The West Indies Cricket Board selectors have yet to announce their squad.

The 10-match One-Day International Triangular Series runs from June 3-26.

Tabraiz Shamsi (left) - maiden call-up.
Tabraiz Shamsi (left) – maiden call-up.