T20 World Cup prize money: Title winners to get $1.6 million

ICC T20 Trophy

Whoever lifts the T20 World Cup trophy on November 14, 2021, in Dubai, will get a cash award of USD 1.6 million to go with it. This was confirmed as the ICC announced the list of prize money for the tournament – a total of USD 5.6 million overall – on Sunday. The losing finalist will get $800,000, while the two losing semi-finalists will get $400,000 each.

Every win in the Super 12s stage of the tournament will fetch teams $40,000 – 30 Super 12 games will be played, totalling $1.2 million in prize money. The teams that go out at this stage of the tournament – eight teams in all – will get $70,000 each.

Wins in round one of the tournament – 12 matches in all – will fetch $40,000 apiece, and the four teams that don’t make it to the Super 12s will get $40,000 each.

Eight teams will take part in round one, starting on October 17 – Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands, Sri Lanka (who all constitute Group A), Oman, Papua New Guinea, Scotland and Bangladesh (Group B). The top two teams from Group A and Group B make the Super 12s. Australia, England, South Africa, West Indies (Group 1), Afghanistan, India, New Zealand and Pakistan (Group 2) are already in the Super 12s.