West Indies T20 World Cup squad 2021, schedule, date, time, and venue

Captain Kieron Pollard

The 2021 T20 World Cup tournament is all set to start on 17 October. The marquee event will be played in OMAN and United Arab Emirates (UAE). Notably, the final of the tournament will take place in UAE on 14 November 2021.

Previously, it was scheduled to begin in India. However, with the COVID-19 situation not in control, it was shifted to UAE & OMAN. The defending champions West Indies will once again be favourites to win the title in the upcoming T20 World Cup event.

Team West Indies is placed in the Group 1 of the tournament which is also labelled as ‘Group Of Death’, considering the destructive teams filled in the group. Group 1 contains West Indies, Australia, England, and South Africa. Notably, the matches in this group are expected to be nail-biting and intriguing encounters. The two-time champions West Indies once again are expected to show their supremacy in the shorter format of the game.

Chris Gayle

Team West Indies is filled with the T20 specialists, They have power hitters like Chris Gayle, Nicholas Pooran, Kieron Pollard, Shimron Hetmyer, Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, etc. Also, their bowling unit is showing continuous improvements.

West Indies were not having great performance previously, however, with the World Cup approaching they have gained exceptional form and are looking like a dominant force once again under the captaincy of Kieron Pollard. They will be a huge threat for each and every team present in the T20 World Cup 2021.

Meanwhile, West Indies has been the most successful team in the T20 World Cups. As they have already won 2 trophies. One in 2012 by defeating Sri Lanka by 36 runs, and the other in 2016 defeating England by 4 wickets. They will begin their tournament facing their toughest competitors England national cricket team and will have an eye on winning their 3rd title.

 West Indies squad:  Kieron Pollard (captain), Nicholas Pooran, Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Roston Chase, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Lendl Simmons, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr. Reserves: Darren Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein

The complete schedule of Team West Indies for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021:

October 23, 2021: vs England, Dubai (07:30 PM IST)

October 26, 2021: vs South Africa, Dubai (03:30 PM IST)

October 29, 2021: vs Qualifier (B2), Sharjah (03:30 PM IST)

November 4, 2021: vs Qualifier (A1), Abu Dhabi (07:30 PM IST)

November 6, 2021: vs Australia, Abu Dhabi (03:30 PM IST)