Windies lose World Cup warm-up match

Cricket with Dalchand Bissoon

Dwayne Smith – batsman makes 21.
Dwayne Smith – batsman makes 21.

West Indies lost their first 50 over ICC World Cup warm-up match against England by nine wickets last Monday at Sydney Cricket Ground, Australia.

The West Indies took first strike and were bundled out for 122 in just 29.3 overs with Lendi Simmons topscoring with 46. Dwayne Smith made 21, Darren Sammy 12 and Marlon Samuels 10, the only batsmen to reach double figures.

Chris Gayle and Darren Bravo were both out for a first ball duck off the bowling of England’s pacer Chris Woakes who took five for 19 in 7.3 overs.

England in reply reached their target quite easily scoring 125 for one wicket in 22.5 overs with Moeen Ali scoring 46 and Ian Bell undefeated on 35.

West Indies next warm-up match was against Scotland today (Feb. 12) at the same venue. Their first ICC World Cup match is against Ireland on Monday, Feb. 16, at Saxton Oval, Nelson, New Zealand.

In other warm-up matches, Australia defeated India by 106 runs last Sunday at Adelaide Oval. On Monday, the New Zealand and Zimbabwe match was rained out with New Zealand batting at 157 for seven wickets in 30.1 overs. South Africa defeated Sri Lanka by five wickets and Pakistan beat Bangladesh by three wickets.

Warm-up matches continue until tomorrow (Feb. 13) before the tournament kicks off this Saturday.

The first week’s fixtures are:

Saturday, Feb. 14, New Zealand vs Sri Lanka at Christchurch, New Zealand and Australia vs England at Melbourne, Australia.

Sunday, Feb. 15, South Africa vs Zimbabwe at Hamilton, New Zealand and India vs Pakistan at Adelaide, Australia.

Monday, Feb. 16, Ireland vs West Indies at Nelson, New Zealand.

Tuesday, Feb. 17, New Zealand vs Scotland at Dunedin, New Zealand.

Wednesday, Feb. 18, Afghanistan vs Bangladesh at Canberra, Australia.

Thursday, Feb. 19, United Arab Emirates vs Zimbabwe at Nelson, New Zealand.

Friday, Feb. 20, New Zealand vs England at Wellington, New Zealand.

Saturday, Feb. 21, Pakistan vs West Indies at Christchurch, New Zealand and Australia vs Bangladesh at Brisbane, Australia.

The ICC World Cup started in 1975 and was won by the West Indies in 1975 and 1979. In 1983 it was won by India, in 1987 by Australia, in 1992 by Pakistan, in 1996 by Sri Lanka, in 1999, 2003 and 2007 by Australia, and in 2011 by India.