Young Chanderpaul In Guyana Senior Squad

Cricket with Dalchand.
Guyana and West Indies middle order batsmen Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Ramnaresh Sarwan who were the in-form batsmen in the recently concluded WICB Nagico Super50 tournament will not be available for Guyana”s second game against Barbados, in the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) Regional Four-day tournament which starts this Friday, at the Guyana National Stadium, Providence.

Tagenarine Chanderpaul
Tagenarine Chanderpaul
Chanderpaul and Sarwan who were both injured did not participate in the first round match against Jamaica which Guyana lost by seven wickets last Monday, at Sabina Park.

Tagenarine Chanderpaul, the 17-year-old son of Shivnarine Chanderpaul and 20-year-old Chanderpaul Hemraj have been drafted into the squad as a replacement.

Tagenarine a left-handed opener made his first-class debut for Guyana at the tender age of 16 against the Leeward Islands last year and has played in four games so far. He was was part of the West Indies Under-19 team that participated recently in the ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup in the United Arab Emirates and ended the tournament, scoring 293 runs at an average of 58.60 with two half-centuries and one century.

Hemraj made his debut against Trinidad &Tobago in 2012 and has played in three first-class matches. He recently completed the first phase at the Sagicor High Performance Centre (HPC) at the University of the West Indies (UWI), Cave Hill Campus in Barbados last year.

Meanwhile, the appointed captain of the Guyana team Leon Johnson, suffered an injury prior to the team”s departure for Jamaica and allrounder Christopher Barnwell led the team in the absence of Shivnarine Chanderpaul who was appointed captain. Barnwell will once again lead the team this Friday.

The Guyana squad- Christopher Barnwell (Captain) Veerasammy Permaul (Vice-Captain) Sewnarine Chattergoon, Assad Fudadin, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Narsingh Deonarine, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Anthony Bramble, Amir Khan, Devendra Bishoo , Ronsford Beaton, Keon Joseph and Vishal Singh.